I am depressed, sometimes when I say I am depressed to friends they get this look on their face, like what do I have to be depressed about. Regardless of that, the fact is, I am depressed.

I feel powerless, I am not happy with my body, mostly because I feel like I’m am not trying hard enough to improve it, I am mostly depressed about my money problems, that sometimes a step forward ends being step that goes nowhere or seems like a step backwards, some day they will go away, but for now it is something I have to deal with.

The point of this post however is a saying I came across on another blog.

The saying is;

Breathe Deep, Look Straight Ahead, There is Nothing to Do but Do it. One day at a Time.

This has become my mantra.

Breathe deep, means to me, one must first accept where you are, if you are going to have any hope of moving through it.

Look Straight Ahead, means to me, Look at the goal, what you want to accomplish, that you can spend a lot of wasted time blaming yourself or others for where you are, don’t get distracted doing the “should have would have” You may examine what got you into the situation in the first place so you don’t get into the same situation again, but don’t dwell on the blame.

There is nothing to do but do it This means to me, that as painful as whatever you need to do, to get to the other side, that putting it off or dwelling on the pain of the situation only makes the pain last longer and gives it more power.

One day at a time this means to me that, it takes time to fix whatever situation you might be in, that one must look for joy in each day, and that we at the end of the day, we must put our heads down to rest, saying we did a day’s work today and that is a step forward.

